INTRO

  • “I am a Leaf”
  • Nature should be about interacting with it rather than capturing it.
  • Which story makes you, personally, feel more present? Which do you get more from?
    • I went on a Creative Retreat this fall…
    • I went to Vail this summer…
  • Society tells us it’s popular to see nature in one way, but I’m telling you that there’s so much more to “see”

BODY

  • Our society’s response to something beautiful is often to share it with someone
    • We want to share that we’re going to beautiful places, doing cool things, and having a good time.
      • Instagram is a social media platform used to share photos; therefore, it is perfect for this type of thing.
      • By searching some popular hashtags we can see how many people decided it was important to share what they were seeing
        • #optoutside is an initiative from REI encouraging people to enjoy nature
        • similarly, #neverstopexploring is an initiative from The North Face encouraging people to go find new places
        • Getting more vague, #adventure is a general term for doing interesting things
        • As broad as I could get: #nature which could be almost anything
    • I have not met anyone who does not have some desire to be “liked” and it is easy to seek that sense of validation by posting photos on Instagram. I do this too.
      • As part of my research I went to Garfield Park Conservatory
      • I took over 200 photos on my phone but they were quick snapshots of cool colors.
      • When my phone died I resorted to sketching which took much longer and allowed me to reflect in the moment.
    • I don’t want you to mistake this as a bash on photography
      • Photography can inspire
      • Posting it online makes it infinitely more accessible
      • Through social media it allows you to meet new people and have fun
  • If you are “living in the moment” through a viewfinder, you likely aren’t in the moment at all.
    • We disconnect from our circumstance in order to take a picture.
      • I went to the Shedd Aquarium to see nature that I don’t usually have the opportunity to encounter
      • Instead, I saw a lot of people taking pictures.
    • The response/interaction becomes more about having a well-composed photo or absorbing what you’re seeing as quickly as possible so as to be on to the next one
    • By disconnecting from the moment, we miss out on the true beauty of it
  • As an alternative, I intend to create an avenue for a user to engage with more personal responsive techniques
    • Personally engaging in your surroundings as an individual roots you in that moment, deepening your connection to it
      • It becomes something you can look back on in reflection rather than simple remembrance
      • It becomes more about how you feel rather than simply what you see
      • This could look like writing, sketching, praying, songwriting, dancing, or any other “heart response”
    • These are opportunities to connect with yourself as well as with God
      • See how much care he puts into is creations
      • See how everything has a purpose
    • This personal response is nothing something that MUST be shared
      • Sometimes, knowing that someone else will, for example, be reading what you’ve written, you may be less inclined to be fully honest in that writing.
      • Knowing it will be shared affects the quality of the response

CONCLUSION

  • Even though it may be popular to share nature from your viewfinder, it limits the ability to engage and connect with the moment. Instead, I’m encouraging the exploration of more emotional, personally invested response techniques
  • Interacting with nature and its creator is more beneficial than simply capturing the moment in a glass cage
  • After all, I could tell you a lot more about my connection to the moment at the Creative Retreat than with Vail because, well, there actually was one.
