First, write some goals:

Topic: Curiosity
I want to break this topic down
I think I know why it matters to me, but why does it matter to other people?

 

Then, make a plan:

Step One: Collect
Begin collecting resources. Try for recent studies from a range of backgrounds, even ones I may not agree with. See what the experts have to say about my topic, today.

Dictionary definition of the word “curiosity”:

  1. A strong desire to know or learn something.
  2. A strange or unusual object or fact.

Books I’ve requested through I-share:

  • Curious: the desire to know and why your future depends on it / Ian Leslie.
  • World is waiting for you / by Barbara Kerley.
  • Curious mind: the secret to a bigger life / Brian Grazer, Charles Fishman.

A book I bought (kindle-edition):

  • Curious?: Discover the Missing Ingredient to a Fulfilling Life / Todd Kashdan

Two books I’ve checked out from the Benjamin P Browne Library:

  • What the Dog Saw / Malcolm Gladwell
  • How the Mind Works / Steven Pinker

A book from our 401 Studio collection:

  • A Whole New Mind: Why Right-brainers Will Rule the Future / Daniel H. Pink

Articles:

  • Curiosity + Creativity = Success.” / Val Prevish
  • “The Man of Many Questions.” / Grazer
  • “In the Lead.” / James Kuczmarski
  • “Wish You Were Here.” / Stirling Kelso

(Two more ordered from I-share)

 

Step Two: Analyze

Go through the resources, and pull out the main thing(s) they have to say about curiosity. How is it relevant? Why are they writing about it? Record these findings here.

  • Curious? / Kashdan
    “when we act on our curiosity, we feed our brains and are in the greatest position to enrich our lives.” (p. 17).

To be continued…

 

Step Three: Define the Problem

Which parts of my analysis present problems? Which facets of your topic am I most interested in?

