• Human Perspectives/Stories/History
    • People interact with each other. That’s just the way it is; like, that’s what life is. But everyone comes from somewhere and is the way they are for some reason or another. I often view my relationships like plants, specifically roots. So many of them are broad flat roots that just try to spread out and are very surface level. I don’t often invest in them or learn about them like a deep root would. Genuine human interaction is imperative to the success of the race. Also imperative are the things that make us different. Our experiences and skills are each a tiny colored piece in the kaleidoscope that is earth. I admitting to not investing and spreading to thin, but one of my recent goals has been investing more heavily into relationships and having less relationships. Some surface level interaction is fine and perhaps necessary, but having too many or only shallow relationships creates a vacuum in life. Humans inherently crave vulnerability and without it there’s always something missing. (this topic is more about understanding one another than vulnerability…if that makes sense…)
    • “The only way to interact better with others is to know yourself” – Terrahawk
  • Attention/Focus of the Public
    • This has been creeping into my thoughts more and more recently. As a population we should be more concerned about, oh I don’t know, the world running out of resources or maybe that we’re letting 800 million of our human brothers and sisters starve. I just feel like there are so many things that are more important than the new Kylie effing Jenner lipstick. It’s frustrating to me how distracted we as humans are. If everyone had at least one common goal and devoted, at the minimum, just their spare time, that goal would be accomplished in no time at all. But that will never happen; there are too many selfish, self-absorbed, attention-craving individuals or corporations that vie for  the public eye. We also just started talking about this in History of GD.
  • Enjoying God’s Creation
    • Let’s be honest, nature can be pretty awesome. Mountains, trees, prairies, animals, all of it’s been intelligently made by the same dude that made us. Let’s recognize that and enjoy it; that’s what it was made for after all. There are stats about America and how little vacation time it takes, but personally I would take as much vacation time as possible! I’ve always loved the outdoors from camping and fishing and exploring, but after going to colorado for a week, I’ve experienced how diverse it can truly be. (Pro-tip: the rockies are very different from farmland.) I think many if not most people have begun taking the beauty for granted because they don’t get to experience it and because, well, if it’s been here for thousands upon thousands of years then why won’t it be here for thousands more? This could probably relate closely to my “Saving the environment” topic.

  •  Family
    • Family is one of the main cornerstones of who I am. Family history and family pride is something that’s very important to know who I am and where I belong.
  • [Public] Education
    • Literasee. There are too many slipping through the cracks of the education system. Is this something that can change? Because, I mean, being educated is super important as a human.
  • Saving the Environment
    • We’re slowly but surely crushing out planet. Many people don’t even think about it, and even more don’t realize that they are. But, if we destroy our planet where would we live? Saving the planet is important to me because I live here.
  • Anna Kendrick Passions
    • What drives you? Everyone has something different. How can these be manifested, cultured, and grown? If something is really interesting to you, there’s nothing more satisfying than pursuing it. I try to follow mine.
  • Fair Food
    • I feel bamboozled. Trickery  is everywhere. I don’t know how to buy food anymore because it’s likely full of filler or chemicals that honestly nobody should be eating. Like, I just want it to be given to me straight. I want to know what I’m buying and whether or not it’s going to give me cancer in a week.
  • Treatment of the Disabled
    • I’ve always had an empathetic attitude towards those with mental disabilities due to growing up with Chris. He has downs syndrome and I was in daycare with him, as well as after school programs plus my mom taught him for a couple years providing me with even more interaction time. I’m not only referring to downs syndrome though, but also more “minor” disabilities (if such a thing can be classified as such) like extreme dyslexia and cognitive disabilities. I couldn’t even finish bingewatching Making a Murderer due to the mistreatment.
  • Treatment of Dogs
    • See above. (I’m not comparing people to dogs or vice versa, but the treatment and feelings are pretty similar.)
