I am part of a community of far away friends. It’t not that anything ended bitterly or that there was a falling out. It’t not that we don’t want to talk anymore it’s that we just don’t. 

 

Far Away Friends / Camp Friends

  • we live in different states
    • Analogy: my friends and I are as confetti is to a finished party
    • Metaphor: my friends and I are confetti scattered over the United States
  • we were once in the same place, either for a little while or a long
    • Analogy: my friends and I are as baby birds are to a nest
    • Metaphor: my friends and I were once baby birds all huddled in the same nest
  • we once laughed and adventured and created together
    • Analogy: my friends and I were as children are to adventure
    • Metaphor: my friends and I chased adventure and opportunity like children
  • we all love / loved the outdoors
    • Analogy: my friends and I are as teens are to their crush
    • Metaphor: my friends and I all crushed on the wilderness that we spent the summer in
  • we all had dreams that were bigger than camp
    • Analogy: my friends and I were as a captain is to his maps
    • Metaphor: my friends and I planned our careers like captain plans the course for his boat
  • we used to write and call one another
    • Analogy: my friend and I were as puppies are to their owners
    • Metaphor: my friends and I were loyal to each other like puppies are to their humans
  • we grew up
    • Analogy: my friends and I are as daisies are to the soil
    • Metaphor: my friends and I grew up from the soil like daisies
  • we moved on
    • Analogy: my friends and I are as tumble weeds are to the desert
    • Metaphor: my friends and I left camp and tumbled away from camp like weeds
  • we went to the same camp
    • Analogy: my friends and I are as vegetables are to farmers
    • Metaphor: my friends and I lived and grew to gether like vegetables who had been carefully by the farmer
  • we worked together and then left and got big kid jobs
    • Analogy: my friends and I were to Fort as kids are to a paper route
    • Metaphor: my friends and I started at Fort like most kids start working their first paper route

 

Proposal: Create a blank book to be sent as a mailer to friends that havnt spoken in 6 months or more.

Rules: Write a story of hope in this book and send it to someone you havnt talked to in at least six months. Send the book to someone in an envelope with a $10 to pay for the next person’s shipping. When the booklet is full send it back to the address on the back of the booklet.

 

 

 

