I’ve been thinking about the people in my life lately. There are so many people that work so hard to influence and better the world and the people around them. Faculty and leaders of this school genuinely care about our well-being, experience in learning, and our future. People at my church work selflessly to grow and make things better.

That being said, I thought about the phrase “Thank you.” It’s just seems too easy.  Sometimes, it is said to check off “being thankful” from your list of to-dos.  But to actually appreciate someone, or let them know that they are appreciated feels more intimate, personal, and honest. It also serves as a reminder to appreciate others, and an encouragement to keep doing good.

I made about 100 appreciation cards with a quote on the back from Ruthie Lindsey.

If you see something beautiful in someone, speak it.

I think it’s important to let people know that they are appreciated, as well as encouraging others to show their appreciation to people in their lives.  “Thank you” sometimes feels overused, so why not expand our vocabulary to best reflect our intentions and how we are feeling?

I hid these notes around Hawac, my church, a local coffeeshop, and a few other Judson offices.

 

